Innovation Institute Governing Board

Governing Board Member Meeting

Current Governing Board Membership

Chairperson - Donald R. Dubendorf, Esq, Attorney-at-Law, Dubendorf Law

Ex-Officio Members

The Honorable Jay Ash

  Secretary, Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

  Board Chairperson, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative

Pamela W. Goldberg, CEO, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative

Marty Jones, President and CEO, MassDevelopment


Governing Board Members

Julie Chen, PhD, Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation, University of Massachusetts - Lowell

C. Jeffrey Cook, Partner, Cohen Kinne Valicenti & Cook LLP

Thomas G. Davis, Former - Executive Director, The Greater New Bedford Industrial Foundation

Priscilla H. Douglas, PhD, Principal, P.H. Douglas & Associates

Patricia M. Flynn, PhD, Trustee, Professor of Economics & Management, Bentley University

Amy K. Glasmeier, PhD, Department Head of Urban Studies & Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mary K. Grant, PhD, President Emerita, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Michael A. Greeley, General Partner, Flare Capital Partners

Emily Nagle Green, President & Chief Executive Officer, Smart Lunches

C. Jeffrey Grogan, Former - Partner, Monitor Group LP

Richard K. Lester, PhD, Japan Steel Industry Professor and Associate Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Teresa M. Lynch, Former - Senior Vice President & Director of Research, Initiative for a Competitive Inner City

Daniel O’Connell, President, Massachusetts Competitive Partnership

Joan Y. Reede, MD, MPH, MS, Dean for Diversity & Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School

Lawrence J. Reilly, Former - President & CEO, Central Vermont Public Service Corporation

Timothy Rowe, Founder & CEO, Cambridge Innovation Center

Pieter J. Schiller, Partner Emeritus, Advanced Technology Ventures

Stephen C. Smith, Executive Director, Southeastern Regional Planning & Economic Development District

Mitchell G. Tyson, Principal, Tyson Associates

Karl Weiss, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Northeastern University

Jack M. Wilson, PhD, President Emeritus & University Distinguished Professor of Higher Education, Emerging Technologies, and Innovation, University of Massachusetts

Phyllis R. Yale, Advisory Partner, Bain & Company

Patrick Larkin, Director, Innovation Institute at MassTech; Deputy Director, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative.

Role of the Governing Board

The 23-member Governing Board of the Innovation Institute sits at the nexus where the Commonwealth’s industry leaders, university stakeholders, and policymakers converge in conversation. At its quarterly meetings, the members engage in high-level dialogue, addressing both the opportunities and challenges facing the Massachusetts Innovation Economy.

The dialogue at Governing Board meetings provides an important tool for gaining insight and understanding of the attributes, principles and conditions necessary for growth.  It has often served as a forum for new ideas and policy initiatives.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Governing Board includes: Donald Dubendorf, Jack M. Wilson, Pieter Schiller, Mitch Tyson, Secretary of Housing and Economic Development Jay Ash, and MassTech’s CEO Pamela Goldberg.